# **MINI MINUTES**

# December 14, 2020 Board Meeting

I would like to begin by acknowledging that we are in Treaty One territory and that the land on which we gather is the traditional territory of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota and Dene peoples and the homeland of the Métis Nation.

### **Received as Information / Updates**

- Collective Bargaining.
- COVID-19.
- Winnipeg Indigenous Accord.
- Future School Sites Acquisition.
- Anti-Racism Initiative.
- Trustee Enquiries.

#### **Approved for Payment**

- Invoice No. 18910 toward the Collège Garden City Collegiate site works in the amount of \$6,248.81 be paid to Scatliff + Miller + Murray Inc.
- Invoice No. 19265 toward the Collège Garden City Collegiate site works in the amount of \$767.72 be paid to Scatliff + Miller + Murray Inc.
- Invoice No. GCC-SITE-COP 3 toward the Collège Garden City Collegiate site works in the amount of \$19,327.88 be paid to Maple Leaf Construction (1978) Ltd.
- 7.5% Statutory Holdback on Certificate of Payment No. GCC-SITE-COP 3 toward the Collège Garden City Collegiate site works in the amount of \$1,492.50 be held for future payment to Maple Leafe Construction (1978) Ltd. upon expiry date of the holdback period and satisfactory lien search.
- Invoice No. 77841 toward Precinct F Land Daytona in the amount of \$11,063.41 be paid to D'Arcy & Deacon LLP.

## **Correspondence Received**

- Alan Campbell, President, Manitoba School Boards Association. Bill 64 Appeal for all Boards to Register.
- Janis Arnold, Interim Director, Education and Communication Services. 2021 Annual Convention update.
- Sarah Whiteford, Assistant Deputy Minister, Education. Safe Schools Fund.
- Manitoba School Boards Association. e-bulletin December 2, 2020.
- Manitoba School Boards Association. 2020 Fall General Meeting November 21, 2020 minutes.
- Kelvin Goertzen, Minister, Education. K to 12 Schools Re-Opening to International Students.
- Josh Watt, Executive Director, Manitoba School Boards Association. "Thank You / Good Job" initiative for healthcare workers.
- Kelvin Goertzen, Minister of Education. 2020/2021 funding in the amount of \$876,000 approved in support of the Wayfinders program.
- LM Architectural Group. Change Order No. 24 for École Templeton.

### **Personnel Report**

- Amber Anderson was appointed to the position of Vice-Principal, Constable Finney School, effective January 4, 2021.
- Will Burton was appointed to the position of Vice-Principal, A.E Wright School, effective January 4, 2021.
- Cheryl Deans was appointed to the position of Vice-Principal, Riverbend School, effective January 4, 2021.
- Sherri Denysuik was appointed to the position of Director, Adult Education Centre and Indigenous Inclusion, effective January 4, 2021.
- Anne Grossman was appointed to the position of Vice-Principal, ÉSOMS, effective January 4, 2021.
- Jennifer Lamoureux was appointed to the position of Teacher Team Leader Indigenous Education, effective January 4, 2021.
- Jamil Mian was appointed to the position of Vice-Principal, Amber Trails School, effective January 4, 2021.
- Porfiria (Porie) Pedrina was appointed to the position of Vice-Principal, A.E. Wright School, effective January 4, 2021.
- Martina Vergata was appointed to the position of Vice-Principal, James Nisbet School, effective January 4, 2021.
- Amanda Forest was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Indefinite Term) contract effective November 27, 2020.
- Lisa McFadzean was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective January 4, 2021 to June 30, 2021.
- Andrew Olynyk was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Indefinite Term) contract effective November 30, 2020.
- Frank Ostlund was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective November 30, 2020 to February 26, 2021.
- Joel Ramos was appointed to a full-time (1.00) Limited Teacher-General (Term) contract effective January 4, 2021 to June 30, 2021.
- The following were appointed to a Substitute Teacher contract effective the 2020-2021 school year.

Parminder Bagga Manjit Kaur Kimberly Benedicto Pawandeep Kaur Alec Berryere Adrianna Krawczuk Zachary Mendoza Kat Buhr Brandon Bytheway Brittnev Newman Michelle Nguy Matiksha Chopra Naomi Dennie Kathryn Olson Meghan Dolovich-Doelman **Dinis Prazeres** 

Jasbir Kaur

The following teachers gave notice of intent to retire effective June 30, 2021.

Fernanda Freire Karen Warner

- Sara Jensen was terminated effective December 4, 2020.
- Lee Tejones was appointed to the position of Bus Driver effective November 30, 2020.